…Ham, Ram, Turkey, Chicken, Turkey, Chicken

Two years ago I embarked on a journey to rid myself of animal flesh. I wanted to get rid of the extra toxins, hormones and chemical exposure in my body. Today I’m 5’3 and almost 200 lbs…. I got some splainin to do! 


I started off by giving up land animals in order of least important to my palette to most important… January I gave up pork, the only thing I missed was bacon and only on cheeseburgers and baby back ribs. February was beef, I was only going to miss burgers from this small restaurant chain that my family goes to called Roy’s Squeeze Inn and spaghetti. March and April was put aside for poultry, I gave myself more time because I knew that I was gonna need more time to kick the ghetto bird. The plan was to be done with all land animals by my 25th bday, however I didn’t consider that I would be in Jamaica and I wasn’t leaving until I had some authentic Jerk Chicken so my plan had to be extended until June. Giving up chicken and poultry was harder than I originally thought.I was living a pestcstarian lifestyle which still allowed for seafood. I gained 20lbs that year and I blame some of it on the fact that I like the worst kind of seafood (bottom feeders) and I like it fried. The following January I gave up seafood too and started living as a vegetarian. It was a smooth transition now because the thought of seafood started to make me sick to my stomach just like land animals did before I gave it up.

I often found myself limited to salads when going out and starches which was boring and fattening so I typically opted for other options and sometimes those options would come in the form of meats I used to eat. I realized that I had to eat most of my meals at home, social eating would be counter-productive.So I fought the urges and pressed on all the while continuously gaining weight. I must be doing this vegetarian thing alllll wrong. So I explored other possibilities, thyroid problems, digestive issues, lack of sex, depression, years of birth control use. I started making doctors appointments and eliminating options off my list. One thing I didn’t consider which happened to be the culprit was PCOS.  No telling how long I had been suffering from this but I can say I’ve shown the symptoms and signs of it for years prior to the weight gain. So ok, I kno the problem working to fix that and boom 7 months later I’m down 10lbs without working out… walking more often,  eating better, and more water intake.

Life was great until I moved to Houston and saw Raising Canes again lol…. long story short I’ve fallen and I can’t get up. I’ve totally relapsed! I’m still not cooking meat but I’m definitely eating it again and Im eagerly waiting to be strong enough to give it up soon. I’m just chicken and seafood again but that’s my kryptonite so it’s more than a notion. Everyone has this idea in there heads about what a vegetarian looks like to them. and it’s false until you are far enough in your journey it looks like me, a struggling addict. 

With my recent setbacks and the temptations of holiday soul food swiftly approaching I don’t see myself being successful in going cold turkey again (I like my turkey hot, and fried in peanut oil) within the next few weeks. So I’m indulging and enjoying until after Christmas and I get back on track with my life. I’m not going portion crazy and I’m still drinking more water and walking so I haven’t gained any weight back (PRAISE GOD).

Gaining weight over the holidays is definitely a thing… some ppl even lose weight in anticipation to gain it right back in these two months however some of us can’t afford 1/2 pound more lol so here’s my little guide to avoiding unnecessary holiday weight gain.

1) PORTION CONTROL– if you want to taste EVERYTHING on the table you can… just make sure u just get a tasting sized amount which is a few spoonfulls if not just one.

2) EAT YOUR FAVORITE FOODS FIRST-my weakness is my Grandma Queen’s dressing (or stuffing for my lighter toned Queens)  it’s bomb.com and it’s the first thing I go for, next is greens and then Mac and Cheese I add a little bit of yams and go about my business. I typically take dessert to go.

3) GIVE IN TO YOUR CRAVINGS (((SOMETIMES)))-I’ve found that if I’m craving something and I try to compensate with an alternative, I eat a lot more of the bad stuff trying to get that monkey off my back. Don’t let inner you encourage u too much, but everyonce in a while.


4) DON’T EAT AT EVERY HOUSE-just because you go by to share some love on the holidays doesn’t mean that you have to share the extra weight, high blood pressure, and diabetes… JUST SAY NO! Ur bffs granny will forgive u


5) TAKE FOOD HOME OR THROW IT AWAY-if you find urself in a situation where u can’t finish your food or your getting full, just stop and find some foil. If you can’t then throw it out (turn the plate upside down and push it down😂) but by no means are u to treat ur body like a garbage disposal.

Holidays are about lies dressed up with as love, family, and food ( that’s another topic for another day) …nevertheless ENJOY IT but don’t get crazy!!!

-J

Leave a Reply

